Dreaming in Chinese

Posted: January 17, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

I have rediscovered the wonderful world of books in the last few weeks, since my husband gave me a Kindle for Christmas. It’s like spending hours in a bookstore, but it’s more convenient because I don’t have four kids creating havoc in the store or begging me to leave.

I have just started reading Deborah Fallows’ Dreaming in Chinese. She and her husband lived in China for three years. It’s not the same as Taiwan, but I am fascinated by her experiences in understanding the Chinese culture and learning the language. I have only read the first few chapters – look for a review of her book here when I am finished. And if you have any book recommendations for me, I would love to hear them.

Comments
  1. Nadine says:

    Would love to see a review. Sounds like a good book to read. Have you read Lucky Girl by Mei-Ling Hopgood? If so, what did you think? If not you may want to check it out.

  2. Cindy says:

    Hi Nadine – Hope you are doing well!

    I read her book a while back, but it was before we traveled to Taiwan. I just reserved it at the library and will have to read it again. I think it will be a little different, having traveled to Taiwan twice and being able to better understand what she was seeing/experiencing on her trips to Taiwan.

Say Hello! Leave a comment. . .

