It’s hard to explain…

Posted: August 12, 2011 in Adoption, Taiwan
Tags: ,

It’s hard to explain the connection I feel with other adoptive families, particularly families with children from Taiwan. Maybe it’s the shared life experience: adoptive families understand the roller coaster of emotion and the agony of waiting for a referral or waiting for travel dates. I really don’t know how people adopted before the Internet and all of the online forums were created. The encouragement I have received from other adoptive families has been invaluable in our adoption journeys. Even though we are now home with our boys, I love to read blogs and follow other families’ journeys, celebrating the good news along the way and offering encouragement whenever I can.

This weekend, several Taiwan adoptive families will be gathering in Texas for the first of what I hope are several reunions. Many of the families only know each other through blogs, online groups or social networks. You may have seen the button in my sidebar for the reunion, called Taiwan R.O.C.ks. I’m sad we won’t be part of this inaugural gathering. It was too much for our family to take on with the homecoming of our youngest son just two months ago. I hope this year’s gathering is a success and we can be a part of future reunions.

Meanwhile, we had the opportunity this week to get together with another adoptive family visiting our area. We first met Judy and her family when we were waiting to travel for our first adoption in 2009. It was so fun to see all of our kids together – Judy took some beautiful photos of our children and I hope we will be able to get together many more times as our kids grow older.

Comments
  1. Judy K. says:

    I was just thinking the same thing at the gym this morning and making a mental note to write a blog post on the subject. You beat me to it! So glad we got to have a mini Taiwan ROCKS reunion yesterday. It was great to catch up with you guys.

  2. Amy Mayfield says:

    I completely agree! I only recently found out about the R.O.C.K.s reunion and we are leaving Monday for Taiwan anyway, but I am really looking forward to future events. I’ve really enjoyed your blog, too.

  3. Nadine says:

    I agree as well. I have gained so much information and insight following your blog. We leave in one month to pick up our new little boy!!! So fun to see your :”brothers” pictures!

  4. I’m not a big group person…not sure we’ll ever go to a big gathering, but I’m looking forward to meeting your family!

  5. Cindy says:

    Yes, Jeri! We really want to meet your family, too!

Say Hello! Leave a comment. . .

