Help!

Posted: August 2, 2011 in Adoption
Tags: , ,

Newly adoptive families need help! Before adopting, I did not understand all the adjustments a family undergoes when they adopt. I guess I figured with adoption, you don’t experience the sleep deprivation that comes with bringing home a newborn (that’s so not true). And I didn’t realize those first few months together are so crucial to attachment for the parents and the child – for us, that means no babysitters or nursery care until my child understands I am “Mama” and not just another caregiver.

I just read an excellent blog post about Helping a Family Who Recently Adopted. There were times after coming home I felt like I was alone on this journey. Thank you to those who have prayed for our family during this time. I am also grateful for the ladies who brought us dinner. That was such a blessing, especially on the days when I couldn’t seem to get anything done. It’s been almost two months since our newest little boy joined our family, and we are finally starting to figure out our family’s new routines.

Click here to read “Helping a Family Who Recently Adopted” from the blog, Our Little Tongginator.

Comments
  1. Pix says:

    I totally feel your pain. Our boy came home May 11 and I’m starting to catch my breath. Of course, that changes on a daily basis, sometimes hourly. Clicking over to read the link. Thanks!

Say Hello! Leave a comment. . .

