Birthfather reunion story

Posted: June 19, 2011 in Uncategorized

Happy Father’s Day to all the dads and dads-to-be! I came across this wonderful reunion story, about a birthfather in Taiwan and his reunion with the daughter he placed for adoption nearly 40 years ago. His daughter, Amy, talks about growing up in the United States, and what led her to search for her birth family.

“I grew up like a regular American kid,” she said. “I never really thought about it. I guess I didn’t think it was possible to find him. Sometimes I’d think I’d want a sister, just because I had two brothers.”

Not even a visit back to Hualien with her family in 1984, when she was in seventh grade, prompted a desire to search or a lasting interest in her birth country. It was a decade later, 1994, after she gave birth to a son, that she grew interested, but her birthfather wouldn’t be found until 2009…”

The adoptive family only had an old address to use in their search for Amy’s birth family. But that home had been destroyed in a typhoon. After enlisting the help of friends, a social worker and police officers, they tracked down her birth father, who was happy to be found.

“I feared that she might really hate me, and I couldn’t embrace the hope that she might forgive me,” [Amy’s birthfather Zhen-yi] Wu wrote, his words translated for the magazine by Paul. “I only thought that if Amy could be OK, then my heart could be at ease.” – Read the full Associated Press article in the Sioux City Journal online.

Comments
  1. Sara says:

    Very special story. I think of the future often and of how well I will be able to prepare myself, our family and especially Milana for the possible meeting of her birthmother. This gives me hope that love does find a way. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

  2. JOYCE says:

    This is such a beautiful story (or stories). I ask my husband once in awhile if he’s interested in finding his birth parents, but surprisingly, he’s not curious at all. He says that his adopted parents are the ones who raised him so they’re the only ones he sees as his parents. Also, since he was adopted so long ago and the records are believed to not be so complete (or at all available), he thinks the search would be futile. He says at this point it really doesn’t matter anymore. I guess I’m the only one curious about his birth parents!

Say Hello! Leave a comment. . .

