Our day in Tainan, part 2

Posted: June 7, 2011 in Adoption, St. Lucy, Taiwan

We met our agency’s in-country coordinator at our hotel about 10:30am, and she directed the cab driver to the orphanage. When we arrived we went upstairs and waited for our baby boy to be dressed in clothes we brought for him. It’s hard to describe the emotions of this day. On the one hand, I was so excited to finally be meeting our sweet boy; on the other hand, I was nervous about the whole meeting thing – how would our son react to meeting us? did I bring appropriate gifts for everyone (orphanage, birth mom, etc.)? would the birth mom be there, too? and what do we say to her if she is there?

My nerves calmed as soon as I saw our sweet baby boy. I can’t explain it, but I think I fell in love with him as soon as I saw him…is that possible?!

We brought two photo books of our older son, one for the orphanage and one for the birth mom. The birth mom was not there today but the orphanage gave us a CD of photos before we left, which include some photos of her and our son. I will treasure those photos and share them with our son when he is older.

The staff at the orphanage really seemed to love the photo book – they looked through it as we sat there and commented on many of the photos. (Our other son was adopted from St. Lucy’s in September 2009, and the book documented his life from the day we picked him up at the orphanage until just a few weeks ago). In one photo, of my husband holding our older son, a caregiver said Dave looks like a movie star…ha! Maybe that explains all the people staring at us in Taiwan – I’m married to a movie star! πŸ™‚

As we left the orphanage in a cab and headed back to the high-speed rail station, our son fell asleep in my arms. It was a full day for him and for us. . .he’s still warming up to us. I love his toothless grin that show off his dimples, and I hope to see more of those soon.

Sleeping as we wait for the high-speed train

Comments
  1. Lora says:

    So happy to hear that things went smoothly and he’s finally in your arms! Even better that you fell in love… Yes, I think it’s totally possble! He is really sweet… Looking at that toothless grin just makes my heart go pitter patter! Congratulations! So happy you finally have your son in your arms and he will forever be with his forever family.

  2. Anne Cook says:

    Cindy, thanks for posting this…I’ve been reading along and just waiting to hear how it went!! I’m so happy for you and your family. It’s people like you and your husband with such big hearts that really make a difference in the world. Congratulations on your new addition!! Have a save trip home and I know your kids will be thrilled to meet their new brother!!

  3. Judy K. says:

    I am beyond thrilled for you guys. I’m so happy for all of your kids, esp. ***, who now has the company of his bio. brother (and pictures of their birthmother – how wonderful!). And your new son – wow. How beautiful.

  4. Tracy Woods says:

    He is beautiful!! You absolutely can fall in love at 1st sight. Congratulations, what an amazing day!

  5. Future Mama says:

    He is so handsome πŸ™‚

  6. Jennifer says:

    I love it!!!! What a precious little boy! Praising God with you!!!

  7. Sara says:

    Yes, absolutely love can just bite ya like a sweet bug! See, there are his little leg chunks! love them. So incredibly wonderful that he is with his forever home and soon to be united with his siblings to create forever memories and enrich each others’ lives.

  8. Congrats, Cindy and Dave! So happy for you!
    BethAnn

  9. Terry says:

    I love his smile!!!! Awwww, it makes you want to cuddle him all day!!!!
    Very handsome! Very happy for you and your family! Glad to hear you fell in love and your fears were gone, baby smiles will do that! πŸ™‚
    Thanks sooo much for sharing your forever family day!

  10. Stephanie says:

    What a special, unforgettable day. He is beautiful.

  11. Marissa says:

    Be sure to copy the photos on the CD on to several different back ups. CDs can start to erode and fail after a few years due to light exposure, dust, etc even if they are never used.

Say Hello! Leave a comment. . .

