Taiwan, here we come!

Posted: June 1, 2011 in Adoption, Travel
Tags:

We’re checked in, made it through security with no problems. . .now we are waiting to board our first flight. And I found a Caribou coffee shop at the airport! I used to drink Caribou Coffee regularly before Starbucks took over most of their shops. This morning I treated myself to one of their signature Turtle Mocha drinks. It may be my last hot coffee for a while, as the weather in Taiwan looks HOT and I may just stick with cold bottled water while we are there.

For those of you who have been following my posts about packing strategies, I wanted to share a photo of our bags for this trip. We are doing carry-on only once again. Our carry-on bags each weighed in at 22 lbs, plus we have our two personal items (my husband has the laptop bag and I have my backpack, loaded down with reading material and snacks for the plane). I have a list of items we need to buy for our son once we get to Taiwan, including an umbrella-style stroller. I did pack some clothing, baby medicines and my Ergo Baby Carrier in our bags.

Our luggage

Comments
  1. Teresa says:

    Safe travels and I can’t wait to meet your son when you return home!

  2. sally says:

    For the record, THE BEST tea drinks I have ever had in my life I had in Taiwan. In Taichung, where we lived during our Taiwan adoption, I went to the tea shop every day. Try the “by shong lu cha” – passion fruit and green tea, or the “ni cha” either hot or iced ( Milk tea – with or without tapioca balls) and this can come in chocolate too – but do not drink before bedtime or you will not be able to sleep. 🙂 Taiwan tea drinks are my all time favorite!

  3. Tonya says:

    So excited for you! I am still jealous about the packing. We had 6 total bags (2 checked each and 2 carry-ons each (plus our personal item)!! OfI admire your packing strategy…..although 2 of the checked bags were gifts and other stuff that we left for other babies and nannies in Taiwan. Praying for safe travels! Can’t wait to follow your journey!

  4. Nadine says:

    So happy and excited for you. Following your trip:)

  5. Robert M. says:

    You guys rock! I usually pack like Paris Hilton …. It ALL comes along for the trip.

  6. Terry says:

    Wow, you guys are much braver than I am going to be, I can’t see this small amount of luggage happening for us. I will probably pack one of everything we need plus a spare, just in case! I wish I could be this organized. I know it worked for your last trip, so now you guys are professionals! Can’t wait to hear more about your adventures in Taiwan!! Very happy for you! 🙂

Say Hello! Leave a comment. . .

