Adopting a boy

Posted: April 27, 2011 in Adoption

“Did you know that the #1 special need in adoption is being born a boy?”

This is a statement from the most recent newsletter from Rainbow Kids, an adoption advocacy organization. We can’t imagine life without our boys – they’re pretty amazing and I can’t wait until our youngest son is home with us. Our adoption agency sent out an email recently with information on a few boys in Taiwan waiting for their forever families. I often think about those boys and wonder if any families have shown interest in adopting them. I hope so. This is a wonderful video from Love Without Boundaries, offering several great reasons for adopting boys.

Comments
  1. Nadine says:

    This made me cry! Amen!! So glad we have our boys. I can’t imagine life without Yao Yao and we are so anxious to meet his brother. Best wishes for very speedy travel for you.

  2. Laurie says:

    So, why is this? I had heard this to be true, but am not entirely sure why. Are there more boys available for adoption or more families specifying that they want to adopt girls? I don’t really understand it. We want to adopt a baby! Boy or girl makes no difference.

  3. Cindy says:

    Hi Laurie – Thanks for reading my blog! My guess is adoptive families may perceive girls as being easier, and tend to request girls more often when adopting. When we started the adoption process for our first adoption, the waiting list for infant boys was shorter than that for girls (we were open to either a boy or girl). If families are interested in adopting an infant, there will likely still be a wait. If I come across any other information on this topic, I will post it on our blog.

Say Hello! Leave a comment. . .

