More than just a cup of coffee

Posted: April 1, 2011 in Adoption, Taiwan
Tags: ,

A barista at my local Starbucks is from Taiwan. I first talked to her when I overheard her saying she would be leaving for a month to return to Taiwan for Chinese New Year. Since then, I have learned she also teaches Mandarin at a nearby school. I shared with her the news about our adoption, and our efforts to learn some Mandarin phrases before our next trip to Taiwan. With her, I feel like I am getting more than just a cup of coffee on my trip to Starbucks: I’m getting the added bonus of practicing a few words and phrases, plus tips for when we travel. It’s a good reminder, too, I need to be spending more time learning the language…I haven’t been as diligent about it the last couple of weeks.

Comments
  1. AH says:

    How awesome is it that God places key people in our lives in the strangest ways! What a cool door that could be opening for her as well. You guys are able to gleen from her but in turn God could use you guys and little man’s adoption in her life!

Say Hello! Leave a comment. . .

