Packing strategically, traveling light

Posted: March 13, 2011 in Adoption, Travel
Tags: ,

My husband convinced me on our last trip to Taiwan to travel light, packing only a carry-on bag and a personal item. I was skeptical at first, but it was such a freeing feeling to walk off of the plane, bag in hand with no worries of lost luggage. Plus it was easier to navigate taxis and trains with a lighter load. I don’t know how we would have traveled as much in Taiwan had we been lugging heavy suitcases.

Even now, before we have a final decree or travel dates, I have started planning my strategy for packing for Taiwan so we can travel light once again. In upcoming posts, I will share some tips we have learned in packing light, including:

  • Luggage: Not all carry-on bags are created equal
  • Versatile clothes for light travel
  • What not to forget: items worth packing

We flew Eva Air last time and will likely do so again. While US air carriers limit the size of the carry-on bag to what you can fit into the little metal contraption at the airport, Eva Air weighs the carry-on baggage to ensure it is within the weight limit of 15 lbs. That is not much considering some carry-on bags weigh 11 lbs. with nothing inside. It is a challenge to keep our bags within that weight limit but if the bag is much heavier it is a pain to haul around.

Eva Air Hand Carry Baggage Restrictions

Comments
  1. Future Mama says:

    I CANNOT WAIT to see all these travel tips. What a great idea!!

    Much love,
    Future Mama
    http://expectingablessing.blogspot.com/

  2. Carolyn F. says:

    Back in the dark ages when I went to France for a month in college, I just thought I needed lots of stuff and I couldn’t dare be seen in the same sweater more than once a week. I think I might have reconsidered my packing and choice of luggage (well, wasn’t a whole lot of choice– I had a wheeled suitcase, but it was four teeny wheels on the most ginormous upright suitcase!) if I’d known I’d have to haul it uphill over cobblestones! Since we were young and didn’t sweat a whole lot in January, we all actually wore about 2 pairs of jeans and a handful of shirts for the whole month, and just washed out our “delicates” every few days. I even learned the technique of washing them with you in the shower! I had no idea luggage itself was so heavy– what a waste. Eager to hear if you found a better manufacturer–and has anyone used a decent backpack for travelling?

  3. Cindy says:

    Hi Carolyn – yes, that sounds similar to my trip to Australia, although that was for business so I had to take dress clothes (and I was there for three weeks). I actually went out and bought the largest suitcase I could find for that trip – that thing weighed well over 50 lbs. after I packed it and earned a special “heavy” sticker at the check-in counter. I can’t believe I lugged that thing all over Australia.

  4. Tammy says:

    We’re heading back for a birth country visit for our daughter this week. I’m enjoying your posts and tips!

Say Hello! Leave a comment. . .

