Adoption Contracts!

Posted: February 4, 2011 in Adoption

We received a packet of documents from our adoption agency today. It included the adoption contracts and power of attorney forms from the orphanage. A set of our dossier documents was also in the packet. This weekend, we will sign all the contracts and have them notarized. Then next week I will trek off to the Secretary of the Commonwealth’s office to have everything authenticated. Once that is complete, the paperwork goes to the Taipei Economic and Cultural Representative Office (TECRO) in Washington, DC, for further authentication. Eventually the paperwork will end up back at the orphanage for use in court.

As I was reviewing our dossier, I noticed that one of the criminal history forms in our dossier was missing the notary’s signature (it had been stamped and dated, but not signed). Panic set in as I realized I could not have the document authenticated without the notary’s signature. From previous experience, I know the Secretary of the Commonwealth’s office is meticulous with details when authenticating documents. Last time, one of the notaries forgot to put her seal on a document and they only authenticated the document after I returned with the notary’s seal on it.

I called the police department and asked to speak with the notary whose signature was missing on the form. I was able to track her down and leave a message on her voicemail. Thankfully, she returned my call quickly and I was able to catch her before she left for the day. (I also brought photos of our little boy in Taiwan, so she could understand why her signature is so important to us.) Mission accomplished – crisis averted. Now we’re ready for authentication!

Comments
  1. Tonya says:

    Oh the paperchase–boy do I remember it all too well. But, as you already know–it is all worth it in the end!! Hoping for a smooth court process for you!

    Take care,
    Tonya, Janie, & Lexie

Say Hello! Leave a comment. . .

