Taiwan’s Olympic Team

Posted: February 13, 2010 in Uncategorized

While watching the Opening Ceremonies for the Winter Olympics, we were curious to know whether Taiwan has a team competing in Vancouver. Taiwan, after all, is a tropical country and I doubt most Taiwanese have ever seen snow. It turns out the Taiwan team (competing under the name of Chinese Taipei) consists of one man: a luge competitor from Pingtung. In an interview published by the Taipei Times on February 13, Ma Chih-hung is asked about his training environment in Europe, compared to his hometown in Taiwan:

“The first time I saw snow, I had a great sense of anticipation. It felt very fresh, like being in a freezer. It was very exciting because it’s so different.

“Adapting to the cold wasn’t easy at first, because of the big change, but gradually I was able to adjust and I was able to just concentrate on the sport. If I felt cold, then I would put on more clothes. It’s not something I pay attention to now, because I’ve adapted.” – Ma Chih-hung, Taiwan Olympic Athlete  (Read the full interview at the Taipei Times here.)

I wonder if that is how our little guy feels about snow. With the unusually high amount of snow we have had this winter, it has given us plenty of opportunity to get outside and let our kids build snowmen and make snow angels. The first time outside in December, it was only about five minutes before our little guy started crying and wanted to go back inside. Now that he has started walking, he is happy to walk up and down our driveway and put his hands in the snow, as long as a path has been shoveled for him. I would be curious to know what he is thinking…but if I had to guess, I think he’s starting to like the snow.

Comments
  1. Tonya says:

    Oh he looks so happy!! I noticed the 1 Taiwan athlete too during the opening ceremonies. I was confused by the “Chinese Taipei” name and flag too….

    Take care,
    Tonya & Janie

  2. Sarah says:

    You always find THE BEST Taiwan related news articles. Thanks!

  3. Ting says:

    There’s snowfall on some mountains in Taiwan. Although it’s not as much as high-latitude area. Most of Taiwanese DO have seen snow.

  4. Tisra says:

    The same adjustment is true of our sweet Dorothy. No snow or even temperatures below 65 in most of India! However, with time, the body actually begins making more red blood cells. Isn’t that amazing? I know I went through the same acclimation period when I moved from Southern California to Nashville, TN. Now, when we go back to CA… everyone seems “wimpy” as they shiver in the 55 degree nights. 😉

Say Hello! Leave a comment. . .

