One Month Anniversary

Posted: October 16, 2009 in Adoption

It was one month ago that we met our son at St. Lucy’s in Taiwan. God has blessed us, and we are grateful beyond words. He’s bonding well, showing leeriness towards strangers and preferring his mama to others. When we first met him, smiles were hard to come by (unless we tickled him). Now he lights up and flashes his toothy grin regularly for us. Four new teeth have poked through his gums since we brought him home…he fussed a little about that, but not too much. There have been family adjustments and new routines, and a few tiring days for us as we continue to get used to one another. Our church has blessed us with meals every other day since arriving home, which has been wonderful – I will eventually have to return to the grocery store, probably this weekend ๐Ÿ˜‰ Here are a couple of photos from our first month at home.

First trip to an apple orchard: I wonder if this thing will fit in my mouth?

First trip to an apple orchard: I wonder if this thing will fit in my mouth?

I'm loving this avocado!

I'm loving this avocado!


Comments
  1. Judy K. says:

    Great to hear that you guys are adjusting well. Three cheers to your church for providing all those dinners!

  2. Tonya says:

    Looks like he is doing great! What a cutie!!

  3. Sara says:

    Oh my goodness!!! Wow… one month home… did you even believe we would ever be here? Of course we did but going got tough. Oh that smile! Is he just not something to just eat up with kisses or what?! Oh yeah… grocery store. I can’t remember if it was you who asked but I go to Walmart and snag a cart from Sam’s club… two front seats! Then often one goes riding in the cart basket (so naughty I know) until that one gets tired and somehow… we shop. heehee. =0) Sara

  4. Misty says:

    So glad everyone is adjusting well. He’s so cute!

  5. Terry says:

    WOW, a month already?!?! It seems like a few weeks ago we were talking about packing. ๐Ÿ™‚

    He is so happy – I love that smile!!

  6. mrs. r says:

    Hello!

    I am the Community Manager for AdoptionVoices.com–the rapidly growing adoption social network.

    I wanted to personally invite you to participate in AdoptionVoices for free by adding a profile and connecting with others who share a similar story. There are currently 161 groups with specific interests in all areas of the adoption triad that you can join.

    You can events, create and host groups, upload success videos, etc.

    We think you would be a perfect fit!

    To join, simply go to http://www.adoptionvoices.com and click on the “sign up” box in the top right corner.

    It only takes about 5 minutes to set up a quick profile.

    Please let me know if you have any questions; it would be my pleasure to assist you in any way I can.

    See you on AdoptionVoices! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. Happy One-Month-iversarry!

    He is such a precious little guy! And it sounds like he’s really adjusting well.

    I found your blog searching adoption blogs. My husband and I are tossing around the idea of adopting our second and starting the process here soon.

  8. Teresa says:

    He is adorable!!!

  9. Tiffany says:

    Absolutely beautiful!!!!!!
    I have not been online for some time but how wonderful to get on here and see that smile
    you all look like u are doing great!!!!
    Hope all is well
    Tiffany

  10. Angie says:

    I just found your blog, and was so happy to see another child adopted from St. Lucy’s! Our son came home from St. Lucy’s in 2006, before they moved locations. What an awesome staff and facility for the babies. Our son was mighty spoiled there, no doubt!!

Say Hello! Leave a comment. . .

