Jet lag, kids and travel

Posted: September 2, 2009 in Travel
Tags: , , , , ,

We leave for Taiwan on Monday (Labor Day).  Dave and I are trying to follow the advice offered by Scott Hanselman on his blog about traveling with kids. Our bags are packed, with the exception of a few last minute toiletry items. We have been trying to go to bed earlier so we will be well-rested before our trip. And we have been researching the anti-jet lag diet. I am a bit skeptical about whether changes to your eating habits in the days leading up to the trip can reduce the effects of jet lag but I am willing to give it a try. It’s not a diet as you might think in terms of weight loss. The anti-jet lag diet suggests feasting a few days before your trip, alternating with eating very light on other days, so that your body adjusts more quickly to the change in time zones.

We plan to travel light – only taking carry-on bags with us. I scoffed at the idea when Dave first suggested it for himself, but it is usually my luggage that gets lost in transit. Our trip to Taiwan will have us staying in four hotels and traveling by train and high speed rail. I don’t want to be lugging around a 50-pound suitcase with me (and Dave does not want to be carrying it either 😉 ). We found these amazing bags made by a company called RedOxx. The bag receives high praise and we decided to give them a try. When the bags arrived, I said to myself there is no way everything  I need for our trip is going to fit into that bag. But the bag is deceiving…it holds everything I need, with room to spare. I did make a packing list and was a strategic in my packing. There is a carry-on weight limit of 15 pounds, and I have weighed my bag – it’s just at the weight limit so I hope there won’t be a problem taking it on board.

RedOxx Air Boss Carry-On Bag

RedOxx Air Boss Carry-On Bag

If there is a problem at the gate with either of our bags, I have a spare duffel bag in my backpack that we can use to check some of our clothes. (You are allowed a free item such as a purse, briefcase or backpack.) And thanks to the advice of Karen, a fellow adoptive mom who just returned from Taiwan, I am making good use of Space Bags – those things are amazing! A friend found a great deal for me on a pack of 12 travel-size Space Bags at BJ’s for $17. I also found them at Wal-mart but the pack of four at Wal-mart cost $20 and only had one or two travel-size bags.

Comments
  1. Tisra says:

    Oh my goodness- it’s finally time!!! Eeek!!!

    An adoptive friend praised the jet-lag diet highly. Also recommended by someone who routinely crosses time zones is melatonin and sleeping meds. As soon as you set off on the plane, take 2 melatonin during your destination’s sleep time, as well as Tylenol PM (or, a pharmacist said Benadryll works as well if you don’t need the pain med.).

    I bought a bottle of melatonin for our trip to India. The jet-lag diet, I may not follow just out of practicality (access to certain foods may be hard). I’ll be interested to hear how it works for you.

    Again, big congratulations on finally getting your sweet child!

  2. Judy K. says:

    I can’t believe Travel Day is here already. I’ll be watching your blog avidly and cheering for you guys from across the Pacific.

  3. Terry says:

    WOW – I can’t believe you are almost ready to leave – how exciting!! So happy for you and I will be thinking of you, for safe travel, and will be checking your blog often!!

    I too lost my luggage, in China of all places, when we traveled to pick up our daughter. Very scary thoughts! I maybe checking into this for ourselves. Thanks for the good tips and can’t wait to see pictures of you holding your baby boy soon!!

  4. You are leaving on MONDAY!!! Yipeee!!! Bet it is hard to believe it is finally here after the many many months of dreaming, waiting, praying for your son. I am so happy for you and will be following along of course. 🙂 And our prayers are with you!

    Jennifer

  5. Sarah says:

    Uh… I think we left with 3 45-50 pound bags on the way there and came home with 4. People that can pack light amaze me. Seriously. Would love to see photos of the insides of those bags!

  6. Krista says:

    Wow, it’s tomorrow. I’m so excited for your. I can’t wait to watch your journey.

  7. Courtney says:

    Happy and safe travels!!

Say Hello! Leave a comment. . .

