Keeping the Faith

Posted: April 19, 2009 in God

An old friend died this weekend, after battling cancer for the last several months. I only recently learned of her illness after joining Facebook. She was just a few years older than me, and in great physical condition – it shocked us to hear of her diagnosis and we asked God to heal her, but He had a different plan.

I first met my friend on a weekend retreat for our church’s small group ministry. She invested herself in helping others grow in Christ and truly cared for those around her. I know there are many others like me who were touched by her friendship and she will be greatly missed. I find comfort in knowing that she is now dancing with her Savior and I will see her again in heaven. She spent her life loving and enjoying God, and she was obedient and faithful in her service to Him. I am blessed to have known her. Even as she battled cancer, she did not cease praising God. Her life will continue to serve as an example for me.

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the course, I have kept the faith: henceforth there is laid up for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give to me at that day; and not to me only, but also to all them that have loved his appearing.” – from 2 Timothy 4:7-8

Comments
  1. Judy K. says:

    So sorry to hear about your friend’s passing. I hope you and everyone who knew her doing okay. She sounds like she was an amazing woman.

  2. Terry says:

    Cindy, I am so sorry to hear about your friend. If I could send you a hug, it would be there!

Say Hello! Leave a comment. . .

