An adoption attitude check

Posted: February 27, 2009 in Adoption
Tags:

The adoption journey is a test of patience.  And for those of us who have a Type-A personality, the adoption process offers many opportunities to give up any control you think you might have.  I was challenged recently after reading a blog post written by Jeremy, whose family is adopting two boys from Ethiopia.  His post is definitely worth reading – here’s an excerpt:

“. . .However, halfway through the process that person who just loves Jesus and wants to rescue orphans can turn from one who counts it all joy to one who is full of grumbling murmurs. In the form of prayer requests and ‘journey updates’, they excuse their sin as venting and being open with their feelings. The scary thing is what those feelings are revealing about what’s going on in their heart. Who are they really serving in this matter?

“Adoptive parents can begin to think the world should stop and someone should just hand them their child. They sound like the kids in the aisle of Walmart throwing a temper tandrom demanding their toy. Sadly, the orphan becomes not a child in need but a thing that they want and want now…”  – Read Jeremy’s full blog post

 (HT: love large.  Abba Fund blog)

Comments
  1. Misty says:

    Amen! Going through an adoption does teach patience and is definitely God’s calling. When we first started the adoption process our family seemed disappointed…and the fact that we were pursuing an international adoption added even more to their grief. I would find myself wondering how a very practical person like myself would be willing to put our finances on the line. How would we come up with that kind of money? Why would we want to wait that long for a child? But putting God’s perspective and His will before our own shed a whole new light on the situation and made us realize why we were doing it…because He called us to. What would seem to be wasted time, money and effort in the eyes of the ‘world’ has given us a sense that we have furthered His Kingdom. We may not be able to see how that is possible in this time but one day all of the pieces of the puzzle will come together. Thanks for sharing Jeremy’s blog. 🙂

    Misty

  2. Sarah k says:

    AWESOME POST MAMA!!!!!! Ya know. I was going to write a selfish post the other day. Stomping my feet and decided that God wouldn’t appreciate that. That He had brought me too far to see me turn into the baby throwing a fit in isle 12..but I turned around and changed my mind in turn redirecting my thoughts back to God and how great HE is.. Jeremy is a wise dude!!!!

  3. Sara says:

    Ah yes, guilty of this at times as well… I call it my Veruca Salt moments. I try to be upbeat most of the time but a good “venting” often makes me feel guilty and then want to take it back… but if I hit erase, then I know I’m just hiding my true feelings from others who may be hurting and need to know it is normal but you have to pick yourself up, dust off and keep going, no matter how hard. I think it is okay to express sadness of the journey as it is not good to harbor bad feelings, but we have to support learn and keep going and not let it become all consuming darkness. He has always been made of light. ;0)

Say Hello! Leave a comment. . .

