Waiting. . .and homeschooling

Posted: February 18, 2009 in Adoption, Home Study
Tags: , , , , ,

Waiting is hard — this is probably an understatement for many families who are adopting. We have been on our agency’s waiting list for about 16-17 months. I don’t think a day goes by when I don’t think about adoption or our child-to-be in Taiwan. I’ve realized recently that I need to focus less time on our adoption. I am the type of person that likes to zero in on projects. . .set goals, complete tasks, work with a purpose. For the adoption at the moment, there is little I can do. We are currently waiting for our adoption agency to review our home study update. . .hopefully it will be finalized next week, then we will be on to updating our dossier paperwork.

So my current focus has shifted to homeschooling and learning all I can about curriculum and teaching our children. I was excited to hear that  Virginia’s largest homeschooling convention (hosted by the Home Educators Association of Virginia) will be free for parents of preschoolers this year – we were already hoping to attend, but we are happy to save a few dollars.

This week I learned of another homeschooling conference.  In honor of the 10th anniversary of The Well-Trained Mind, Jessie Wise and Susan Wise Bauer, authors of the book and curriculum, will be featured at a conference in Williamsburg this spring.

Life will be very busy once we are matched with a child and move closer to completing our adoption. In the meantime, hopefully I can put this “down-time” to good use and get ready for the challenges ahead with homeschooling.

Comments
  1. Tisra says:

    We’re homeschooling this year. If you have any questions or if I can be of help, let me know. This year, I’m doing 3rd grade and K with the boys.

  2. Judy K. says:

    Hats off to you for the homeschooling effort (because it really is a huge effort!) Praying that good news will surprise you while you’re looking the other way.

Say Hello! Leave a comment. . .

