Divine encouragement as we wait

Posted: December 19, 2008 in Adoption, God
Tags: ,

I have had a lot of questions about our adoption since finding out we are likely going to be waiting a while longer for a referral.  Questions like, maybe our child is not in Taiwan after all, and perhaps it is not God’s will for our family to adopt?    I admit it, I am guilty of having a timetable for when I would like to adopt. . .and I am afraid I have been trying too hard to make it all happen without seeking God’s will.  If our family is going to adopt a child, I am learning that it will have to be in God’s timing.  Our adoption may not happen next year, or even the following year…or at all.  Is that okay?  Yes.  Would we be disappointed if God closed the door on our adoption?  Yes – but we want to be obedient to His will.  God is using Psalm 27  and Psalm 46 to speak to my heart:

“Wait on the Lord; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the Lord!” – Psalm 27:14

“Be still, and know that I am God.  I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!” – Psalm 46:10

As I look back over the last couple of years, I can see how God has been at work in our family and in our adoption.  He has answered many of our prayers, sometimes in ways we liked, sometimes not.  In thinking about one of those answered prayers, at the time I was very disappointed in God’s answer.  But looking back, God knew what was best for us and that is so clear now.   God has been faithful and we will wait on His timing and direction. 

Comments
  1. Sarah k. says:

    Hey sweetheart… need more encouragement?
    come to my blog Taiwankiddo2.blogspot.com

    Sarah k

  2. All I know is that I need to copy this post, print it, file it and revisit it when I am in your shoes months from now. You are an encouragement to so many! I look forward to God’s revelation of your child in the near future! Merry Christmas to one of my very first adoption blogging buddies! love you, Shannon

Say Hello! Leave a comment. . .

