Waiting, An Update on our Adoption

Posted: December 9, 2008 in Adoption
Tags: ,

We received an update on our wait from our agency this week.  It looks like another year of waiting.  This is the first time I have felt really discouraged since we started this journey.  I had hoped at two years we would have a referral and just be waiting to travel – but this latest update puts us waiting well beyond the two-year mark just to be matched with a child.  I am thankful that God has a plan for our family and He has already chosen the child who will someday join our family – my hope is that we will meet our child much sooner than we expect.

Comments
  1. Judy K. says:

    Wow… I wish I knew the magic words to encourage you. In the midst of all the undesirable news, you sound like you are seeking God to give you perspective and strength. That’s really admirable. If anything, I know He will give you strength to endure. I’m praying that you’ll be pleasantly surprised over the next year.

  2. God’s plans are so hard to figure out sometimes. But what an encouragement that you are looking to Him and waiting on His timing. The frustration must be difficult.

  3. Praying you will find your child soon! Have you thought of a waiting child? I know there are some in Taiwan. I dont know God’s plan for your family but I know HE knows! PRAYING
    blessings,
    Tami
    Noah’s mama
    http://www.tillGodbringsthemhome.blogspot.com

  4. Tisra says:

    I know completely how you feel!!!! We are at 19 months now, and just got an update of another 5 months ’til referral.

  5. Krista Mayne says:

    So sorry we are right there with you and Tisra waiting 19 months and an update of about another 4 months til referral. Hopefully the time will fly by for all of us

  6. Misty says:

    I feel your pain. We found out that 9 more months were being added to our wait time when we were still in the adoption process. Hang in there though!

  7. bruceeric says:

    Cindy: I wish there were words that would erase the endless time that you have to wait but there aren’t. What I can say, though, is that it’s already been five years ago that our daughter joined our family and every month that we waited felt like an eternity. Now we don’t remember the wait at all. We also calculated the month in which our daughter was conceived was the very month that we turned in our initial application to adopt from China. From that day on through until the day she was placed in our arms, we prayed for her and her mother and father every single night at bedtime. I would encourage you to do the same.

    Thanks.

    bruceeric.wordpress.com

  8. Courtney says:

    I’m so sorry about this news. It must be very disheartening. I just pray that God continues to encourage your heart and keep you going strong!

Say Hello! Leave a comment. . .

