Grand Holiday Plan: A Gift Idea

Posted: November 16, 2008 in Grand Holiday Plan
Tags: , ,
It’s Week 12 of the Grand Holiday Plan. Only about 40 days left until Christmas. My holiday shopping is now underway. I have finally found a nice “homemade” gift that will help us save a little money on gifts this year – I would share it here but I don’t know how many family members follow our blog and I don’t want to spoil their surprise. I will share another gift idea with you, though – the White House Historical Association issues a new ornament each year. I have all of them for the last twenty years or so. This year’s ornament features the presidency of Benjamin Harrison and is really beautiful. 
2008 White House Historical Association Ornament

2008 White House Historical Association Ornament

We have started receiving invitations and our calendar for December is beginning to fill up. Is it just me or does everyone seem to plan their holiday event for the first week of December? We have at least three events on our calendar during that first week. Dave is also finishing up his semester for his Masters program and we are having our home study updated in December.

As for holiday prep, I have designed and printed our Christmas cards and purchased postage. I still need to write our annual Christmas newsletter, and hope to have that completed this week. The cards will go out right after Thanksgiving. I have fallen behind in cleaning but the Grand Holiday Plan has helped me see the areas where de-cluttering is needed. I think my work on the plan will continue well into the new year, specifically with identifying an area each week with which to focus and de-clutter.

This week, the plan calls for cleaning the attic — that is something Dave and I already planned to do as a spring project. I will go up there this week to assess the location of our Christmas tree and decorations. I will also make a grocery list this week and hope to get most of the food picked up for Thanksgiving next week. Dave is hoping to smoke our turkey on the grill this year and I am looking forward to all of the turkey leftovers after the holiday – delicious!

Comments
  1. Enjoyed reading about the grand holiday plan! 🙂 I would love to hear about the gifties you are working on. Email me childofmyheart@aol.com when you have time 🙂 I am planning on doing some family gifts of bean soup in a jar and a calendar with NOAH’s picture on it 🙂 They should WANT a picture of the newest family member 🙂

    hugs
    Tami
    Noah’s mama
    http://www.tillGodbringsthemhome.blogspot.com

Say Hello! Leave a comment. . .

