A Difficult Decision

Posted: November 6, 2008 in Adoption
Tags: ,

Since embarking on this journey of adoption, our eyes have opened to the special needs of children who need homes. I often look at waiting child lists and wonder whether one of the children pictured is the child God would have us adopt. Recently, a little girl caught our eye and we requested her file from the placement agency. After providing the agency with our home study, we received her file and sought advice from a doctor who specializes in adoption referral reviews. We prayed for God to grant us wisdom and direction. This was probably one of the hardest decisions we have ever had to make. As we talked to the doctor, we realized this little girl’s needs would likely be much more than our family can handle. We had to return the file to the agency and tell them we could not adopt this little girl. This beautiful little girl is a child of God and deserves a loving family. Our prayer is that another family, better equipped to handle the challenges ahead, will come forward and adopt her.

Comments
  1. Tisra says:

    Eric and I went through this in the spring, actually. If you would like to privately e-mail me, I’d be happy to share. It is such a personal journey, that we didn’t discuss with too many people and I didn’t post to my blog about it. tisra AT mac DOT com

    On another note, I saw you’re reading Well trained mind. I’d love to know what you think- it might be a good read for me as we’re homeschooling right now.

    Tisra
    waiting for referral
    http://lifetrain.blogspot.com
    http://www.tisrafadelyoriginals.etsy.com

  2. Judy K. says:

    What a tough, tough call. I think it says a lot that you were open enough to the possibility. Ultimately, I know you will find the child that God has meant for your family. I’m looking forward to reading news of that day!

  3. Sarah k. says:

    We had a similar situation happen through foster care. The system lied to us though profusely about the needs of the children and we had to back out. The faces of these two boys haunted my dreams for months!! I checked their status for months online until the oldest was adopted and watched as they finally brought the reality of the youngest child’s SN to be known. It was horrible to have to say no. I know your pain and worries love. If you need to talk… email… Taiwankiddo2.blogspot.com

  4. I know how difficult this decision is. My husband and I had a similar decision as well and like you, came to the same conclusion. Even still, I cried over it. But I take comfort in knowing that the little girl was adopted by a loving family – the family she was MEANT to be a part of. God does have a grand plan.

  5. I have not been in your position, but as a mother, Christian, and a love for orphans, I know your heart was pulled and torn through this decision. Our Lord has your child for you. He will show you. I am finding this might be one of the most difficult parts of the journey. (I am sure there will be more though) I am praying for you this week.
    Shannon

  6. Courtney says:

    Good for you. I know that is hard, we have done that now too, but you opened up to the possibility of finding your child that way and God knows what you can handle. It will be clear. I’m writing these words as much to you as I am to myself.
    Be blessed and I can’t wait to see what God opens up to you!
    Courtney

Say Hello! Leave a comment. . .

