The Mommy Orphanage

Posted: October 25, 2008 in Adoption, God, Taiwan
Tags: , ,

I just read a review of a new children’s book called The Mommy Orphanage, written by Cheryl and Emily Krauss, a mother and her daughter adopted from China.   The idea for the book came about when Emily heard the story of how she came to live in America — she asked her mother ‘what if’ there was a mommy orphanage where all the mommies live until a child chooses them to be their mom.   It sounds like a sweet story and I look forward to picking up a copy the next time I am at the bookstore.  As I reflect on our personal journey of adoption, I have to admit sometimes I feel like we are waiting to be “chosen”.  Our adoption agency works with families in the order in which families go on the waiting list.  There are several criteria that go into the waiting list, such as age of child requested, consideration of special needs, home study approval date, and so on.  As part of our file for our agency, we assembled a family scrapbook, which will give the orphanage, and perhaps the birth-family also, a glimpse of our family life.  With all of the paperwork and other tasks we have completed in moving to this point in our adoption, we trust that God will unite us with the child He has for our family.

Comments
  1. I will have to look into this one. The cover illustration is lovely! I hope you had a relaxing weekend!

  2. I will have to check it out. Sounds sweet!

    Oh…I have an award for you at my blog.

Say Hello! Leave a comment. . .

