Week Six: Grand Holiday Plan

Posted: October 12, 2008 in Grand Holiday Plan
Tags: , ,

A bit more progress on the Grand Holiday Plan this week — the tasks this week included cleaning the guest bedroom and bathroom, more shopping and work on make-ahead food for the holidays. The guest bathroom is also my laundry room and the same bathroom our kids use, so the idea that it is going to stay neat through the holidays is slim, but it’s clean right now! My parents came to visit this weekend so the guest bedroom is also in good shape.

I bought my first Christmas gift on Saturday at the Green Valley Book Fair – the gift is a scrapbooking kit/book for one of my nieces. I was hoping to find a few more gifts at the book fair, but my other ideas didn’t pan out. We are scaling back our Christmas budget this year so I am on the look-out for great bargains and discounts. So far, with the Grand Holiday Plan, I should have already bought about ¼ of the gifts on my list. But I am re-thinking my gift ideas and will hopefully get a jump-start in the next couple of weeks. I had a few ideas as I was shopping the other day and hope to save some money by giving some “semi-homemade” gifts. I am curious to know if any of you reading this are scaling back your holiday plans, and how you are planning to shop this year?

Comments
  1. Courtney says:

    Cindy,
    We are *trying* to scale back this year. I am hesitant to say this because I want everything to be perfect, but I am going to try and limit my gift giving to one item per person. That may sound funny, but I have a habit of buying one thing and then finding “the perfect thing” moments later or something that would go with the first thing and I end up with a huge stack of gifts for each person! ONE ITEM!!
    Be blessed,
    Courtney

Say Hello! Leave a comment. . .

