Week Five: Grand Holiday Plan

Posted: October 4, 2008 in Grand Holiday Plan
Tags: , ,

This was a great week for the Grand Holiday Plan in this house!  I have almost caught up on the deep-cleaning part of the plan.  This week I tackled our bedroom and bathroom, as well as our kids’ rooms.  It felt so refreshing to pack away clothes too small for our kids, and to organize their drawers with fall and winter clothing.  I’ll finish up this week by designating clothes that should be donated, and also storing away summer clothes. 

During these last couple of weeks the plan has called for making an extra meal for the freezer for use during the holidays.  Well, this week, I made 13 freezer meals!  I may save a few of those for the holidays, but I am trying to “economize” more with our grocery spending by buying in bulk.  I found a great book at the library called Fix, Freeze, Feast written by two women who operate one of those make-ahead meal businesses.  I made meals using four recipes: Mariachi Chicken Rolls, Sweet Asian Chicken, Cashew Chicken Stir-Fry, and Peanut Satay.  All of the meals make 4-6 servings.  The authors base their recipes on the bulk food quantities you buy at warehouse clubs like Costco and Sam’s Club.  I have another make-ahead cookbook but this one seemed so much easier to use.   I hope to cut our grocery spending by a few hundred dollars by planning our meals this way.

Comments
  1. Judy K. says:

    Sounds like a great book. I’ll definitely have to look into it.

  2. Oh, I will be looking into that! thanks!!
    Shannon

Say Hello! Leave a comment. . .

