Week Three: Grand Holiday Plan

Posted: September 21, 2008 in Grand Holiday Plan
Tags: , ,

My efforts for week three of the Grand Holiday Plan were somewhat derailed by a double ear infection, travel to Pennsylvania and potty training. Despite all that, Dave whipped our living room/office into shape and we can now see the surface of our desk again. If we can keep our children from playing in there, it should stay tidy until Christmas.

The Grand Holiday Plan called for cleaning the entryway/foyer, making a batch of holiday goodies and an extra meal to freeze, buying canned food items, and buying all of the supplies for homemade gifts. I always give our neighbors a tin of holiday goodies at Christmas – last year I made Oreo Truffles and they were such a hit, I will probably make them again this year. I would love to make homemade gifts for our families but I am not very crafty or creative. I may look into making floral wreaths or another type of decorative household gift.  What homemade gifts have you given family and friends at the holidays?

Regarding the potty training, I have to say Jelly Bellies are the best! We have been rewarding our daughter with Jelly Bellies whenever she has success on the potty. She loves choosing her favorite ones, and it’s been great in helping her learn all of her colors, too. We’ve been in potty training mode for six days now and she is doing great.

Comments
  1. robyn says:

    Way to go Mom! You guys are doing great!
    Now, about the Holiday planning, I too am a little behind. I appreciate your thoughts though. The girls and I will hang in there, we will get more done this way than not, even if we are behind! =)

  2. Oreo truffles? Yum! you should post that recipe. As far as potty training, I say, whatever works. Each of our kiddos was motivated by something different. One was sweets, one was stickers, one was a sticker chart to earn a toy he saw at the store! Let us know how it all works out!
    Shannon

  3. Jeri says:

    Awesome on the Jelly Bellies! We’ll be starting Jace when we get back from vacation in Nov. I’ve been talking to him about it but he keeps insisting he’s a baby! and I was not looking forward to giving him m&ms.

Say Hello! Leave a comment. . .

