Steven Curtis Chapman talks about adoption

Posted: August 7, 2008 in Adoption, God
Tags: , ,

Steven Curtis Chapman and his family will be on Larry King Live tonight, talking about their faith in Jesus and how it is helping them cope with the loss of their youngest daughter.  In the lead-up to that interview, SCC shared some thoughts about his family’s adoption journey in a commentary he wrote for CNN:

“My wife and I had always supported the idea of adoption, and as Christians, we understood the importance of loving and caring for others. But what I had not yet grasped was that adoption is a physical picture of what Jesus has done for me. I did nothing to deserve God’s love; in fact, I was living as an orphan, without hope. Yet God chose to pursue a relationship with me, and through the death of his son Jesus, I was adopted into God’s family. . .

“If only 7 percent of the 2 billion Christians in the world would care for a single orphan in distress, there would effectively be no more orphans. If everybody would be willing to simply do something to care for one of these precious treasures, I think we would be amazed by just how much we could change the world.” — Steven Curtis Chapman (To read more of his commentary, click here.)

Comments
  1. Erik says:

    I cannot even imagine having to go through something this gut wrenching. The Chapman family’s view of God throughout this tragedy is to be emulated. I have such a profound sorrow yet a renewed respect for how they have looked to God during this incredibly difficult time. May God comfort and strengthen them in the weeks and months ahead.

Say Hello! Leave a comment. . .

