Thoughts on our adoption journey. . .

Posted: July 26, 2008 in Adoption, God
Tags: ,

“Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice! Let your gentle spirit be known to all men. The Lord is near. Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” — Philippians 4:4-7

We are at about the midpoint of our adoption journey, so I thought I would share some thoughts on our journey so far. . .how God is working on me and what I am learning.

I have a strong type-A personality – I like to be in control of the situation, follow a schedule and have everything run according to plan. The first part of the adoption journey was probably the easiest for me. We were given a list of requirements by our home study and adoption agencies. It was easy to check off items on a list as we collected documents and completed interviews with our social worker. Then we went on the list with our agency to wait for a referral. There is little for me to do at this point. I have a love-hate relationship with online bulletin boards: while I enjoy any tidbit or update on adoptions from Taiwan, it does seem to make the time move a little slower. I would love to know what number we are on the waiting list, and have a set time-table for when we will receive a referral and bring our little one home. But that is not possible.

I believe God is using this time of waiting to teach me contentment. I am reading a biography of the Apostle Paul’s life, written by Beth Moore. She talks about how independence can rob us of contentment:

Refusing to rely on God robs us of some of God’s most priceless riches. Through countless ups and downs, Paul learned he could do everything God called him to do, but only “through him [Christ] who gives me strength” (Phil. 4:13). Through the multitude of needs Paul encountered he learned that “God will meet all your needs. . .in Christ Jesus” (Phil. 4:19). I believe Paul considered reliance on God a secret because everyone has to discover it for themselves. – From Beth Moore’s “To Live Is Christ”

So, what does this mean for our adoption?  God is teaching me to savor this time as a family now, appreciating family outings and celebrating milestones with our children. Soon we will become a family of five and new challenges will keep me busy. I want to enjoy the blessings God has given me now and learn to rely on God’s sovereignty in all areas of my life.

Comments
  1. Sarah k says:

    How inspiring! It is wonderful how God uses even adoption to temper his children isn’t it? I have been dealing with a bit of the “control” bug myself with our adoption of Josiah too! It i very difficult to say the least, to keep the faith that God will continue and fulfill HIS promises when you are facing diversities and such. I am so glad that you are finding God’s will for you hon.

  2. Courtney says:

    We sound very similar! I was so gung-ho about go here and there, collecting documents, getting things notarized and sending them on their way… now I feel totally helpless, which is probably where God wants me to be. I’m going to have to check out that book– sounds like a good one!

Say Hello! Leave a comment. . .

