George Clooney and the Meaning of Life

Posted: July 9, 2008 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

“People keep on asking me, ‘Don’t you want to have kids?’ I have not wanted to have kids. Then they say, Aren’t you afraid of dying alone?’ But we all die alone. I remember Uncle George sitting in bed, 68 years old. He looked at me and said, ‘What a waste.’ … I came to the conclusion that I was not going to wake up one day in my 60s and say, ‘What a waste.’ I was going to grab as much out of this life as I could.’ “– From “Why Clooney Says no to marriage and kids”

Mr. Clooney has a strategy on how to avoid regrets in life. Instead of having a family, he’ll achieve career success, money, and have fun along the way. And to his credit, he’s also trying to help do good in the world with causes like Darfur. I think the Bible provides both a challenge and a promise of hope to Mr. Clooney.

The challenge:  “For what will it profit it man if he gains the whole world and forfeits his life?” (Matthew 16:26).

It will not matter in death how much money, fame, or even earthly happiness we have if we die without Christ. Indeed, Jesus says to gain the entire world, but yet to lose your life is a bad deal. And what’s worse is that life is not the end of the road for those without Christ. God’s wrath will await them as punishment for sins.

The promise:  “I am the resurrection and the life. Whoever believes in me, though he die, yet shall he live.” (John 11:26)

The good news is that believing in Christ means our death is not the end. No one will die alone who is in Christ. We will live forever in Him.

I know this is basic, but it bears repeating. The only way to find meaning in this life and the next is to live for Christ and serve Him. There is no other way.

Comments
  1. Pam Askew says:

    Cindy,
    This is so true. I have many family members on my side that is struggling with this issue and Christ seems like the last place they want to look…. they strive to make things better in this life and it is so futile. Great reminder for those of us who are Christ followers and a wake up call for those who are hungry to hear the Message. Thanks for posting this.

    Pam

  2. Louise Lewis says:

    Great food for thought…It reminds me that “family” is not defined only by having children or other blood relations. In Belief, I embrace all as family. (I just fight less with those not related 🙂

    As my simple way of ‘giving back’, I’d like to offer you (and all who read this) a free gift (pdf) copy of my book. No strings. (I know, hard to believe these days).

    Just request a copy from my website…

    Thanks for the great post!

    take care,
    Louise Lewis, Author
    No Experts Needed: The Meaning of Life According to You!
    http://www.noexpertsneeded.com

  3. Judy K. says:

    I have to agree with you on this one. Everything else in life is ephemeral.

Say Hello! Leave a comment. . .

