Earthquake relief efforts

Posted: May 13, 2008 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

A boy being rescued in Dujiangyan.

Please pray for the relief workers and victims of the recent earthquake in China. The news is currently reporting 12,000 people have died, and the death toll is expected to rise. I was concerned about the Starfish Foster Home in Xi’an, China, which is located in the province to the north of the epicenter. I tried emailing Amanda de Lange, the woman who runs the home. She is currently in Shanghai with a child recovering from surgery, but I received an automated email response with this information: 

There has been a 7.8 earthquake in Sichuan the province south of us. Xian did feel the earthquake and the babies were all outside for a long while. I got a really frantic phone call from home which I could not understand a word because they were speaking so fast. There was some damage to the apartment but none of the babies were injured. In other words they are all okay.” – Amanda de Lange, email response on May 13, 2008

If you would like to support the relief efforts through a donation, we support Samaritan’s Purse. Franklin Graham, the President of Samaritan’s Purse, is currently in China and is working with Chinese officials on the best way for Samaritan’s Purse to help.  Please remember to pray, too, for the relief efforts for the cyclone that struck Myanmar. 

Comments
  1. Sara says:

    Thank you for posting about the orphanage… I needed to know that they were okay. They are all in my thoughts and prayers. Everytime I see a survivor, I am so relieved for everyone who loves that special one. Each time I see a family grieving or one who has lost their life, I crumble. May all those affected by these tragedies, find some small amount of comfort somewhere and somehow… may they feel some relief, prayers, thoughts and love somewhere, somehow.

    On a different topic, I wanted to thank you for always posting articles for me to read… I love knowledge and you are great at finding it for me (helps when I’m busy with the kiddos).
    Take Care, Sara

Say Hello! Leave a comment. . .

