A Quilting Quest – Project Update

Posted: March 29, 2008 in Adoption, Quilt
Tags: ,

I have learned a little more about quilting since my first post about this project. A good friend who reads our blog told me she chuckled at the thought of me sitting down to make a quilt. I can see why she thinks it may be a little humorous. The year before our first child was born, I decided to take up crocheting. I signed up at a craft store for a class on crocheting and arrived very enthusiastic about my new hobby – I had visions of crocheted baby quilts and other handmade gifts. By the end of that class, the instructor was so frustrated with me — not because I wasn’t trying but because I just couldn’t get the hang of it.

So now, on to quilting. I checked out a book from the library on the basics of quilting. I read chapter one, and that’s all it took to bring me back down to reality. It is unrealistic to think I could devote enough time and energy to learning the art of quilting, while trying to keep up with two children and everything else required to keep our house running. A few years from now, maybe I will have more time on my hands but right now it seems too big a task to take on without help.

I contacted a local quilting store who put me in touch with a quilter. I hope to meet with her in the next week or so to learn a bit about quilting and discuss whether she will be able to help me with this project – she had not heard of a “100 Good Wishes Quilt” but seemed to be interested in learning more about it. Stay tuned for further updates. . .

Comments
  1. Jodie says:

    If you have a few minutes, I would love your input on my blog in regards to the ten struggles that Christian women face. Thank you!

  2. R... says:

    I admire your ambition as well as your self-knowledge. It’s awesome that you were able to decide quickly that quilting wasn’t for you. I am aware that there are quilting clubs that might make it easier for some to get motivated – not sure if you have one in your area, but it sounds like you’ve already found an even better solution! I’m sure it will be beautiful and I hope you’ll share photos of it here!

Say Hello! Leave a comment. . .

