A Question of Quilting

Posted: March 16, 2008 in Adoption, Quilt
Tags: ,

There is a tradition among some adoptive families, especially those adopting from China, to create a quilt for their new child. From what I understand of the tradition, it originated in the northern part of China. Families make a Bai Jia Bei, or 100 Good Wishes Quilt, to welcome and celebrate a new life. It is customary to invite friends and family to contribute a patch of cloth and a wish for the baby. Part of the patch of cloth is sewn into the quilt for the baby, and the other part of the cloth goes into a scrapbook with the wish for the child. The quilt contains the blessings from all the families and friends who contributed a piece of fabric.

I am contemplating whether to make a quilt for our child’s homecoming. It would be a fun way to involve family and friends in our adoption journey. However, I am not a seamstress. . .in fact, if I need something hemmed, I take it to the tailor. The idea of putting together a quilt is a bit daunting. I have read on some websites that you can send the patches of material to a quilter who will make the quilt for you, but that can be expensive.

The other concern I have is whether our child would even enjoy or appreciate something like this. We do not know yet whether we will be adopting a boy or girl – we left that open to our agency and the orphanage to decide. Would a boy care about a quilt? I do plan to create a life book for our child to look back on as he or she grows up and wants to learn about his or her birth history and family.

If any of you are quilters, please leave a comment with suggestions on how to get started and learn about quilting. And I would love to hear, too, from any families who have adopted, any words of advice or wisdom in creating a keepsake for our new child.

Comments
  1. marynsmommy says:

    The tradition is a beautiful one. I am like you and would have no clue how to make a quilt. Best of luck in your decision making.

  2. Victoria hernandez says:

    Hi I adopted from China last year and made a quilt. We are now waiting for our daughter from Taiwan. Yes!! make a quilt.I am not a seamstress either but the process is rewarding and your child will appreciate it.
    At my shower I asked everyone to bring in fabric. We had supplied all the items to decorate and send a good wish. I took a picture of each person and made a book with the wish, photo and extra fabric. This book is priceless as well as the quilt.
    If you need any encouragement or want me to donate your first piece please eamil me Victoria ( California)

  3. Faith says:

    I found you through the Living Proof blog, and I used to live in Taiwan so I’m excited you are adopting from there! 🙂 Taiwan still holds a very special place in my heart.

  4. […] 29, 2008 · No Comments I have learned a little more about quilting since my first post about this project. A good friend who reads our blog told me she chuckled at the thought of me […]

Say Hello! Leave a comment. . .

